Here’s How To Block Annoying Notifications on Chrome

0
14

Google Chrome may be the most popular browser of all time. But it has a very annoying bad habit which always asks if the website you’re visiting wants to be able to send you notifications.

These annoying pop-ups are just irritating as hell (I can confidently say I never want a website to send me useless desktop .p instructions) but strangely disturbing.

If you’re sick of these instructions, there’s an easy way to make them go away for good – if you know where to look.

1. Launch Chrome’s Settings menu
Get started by launching Chrome’s Settings menu, which you can find in the list next to the address bar. Scroll to the bottom and select “Settings.”

2. Find the “Advanced” menu
Once you select the settings, it will open a new tab with a set of menus. Again, scroll to the very bottom and select “Advanced”.

3. Select “Site Settings”
From the Advanced menu, scroll down to “Site Settings” under the “Privacy and Security” section.

4. Search for “instructions.”
Once you’re in the “Site Settings,” select “Notifications.” The first thing you’ll notice is, “Ask before sending (recommended).” It might be the “recommended” setting, but don’t let Google’s confusing words trick you. If this is enabled, it means that the websites are free to send you those nasty requests for instructions. Turn off this setting, so it looks like the image below.

Note that you do not have to take an all or nothing approach here. If there are some websites that you would like to see instructions from, you can add specific sites in the section below labeled “Allow.” Likewise, if you only have a handful of annoying sites, you can add them to the “Block” section.

5. Bonus: Disable Location Discuss
You’re already messing with your Chrome settings. So why not go one step further and disable Chrome’s ability to track your exact location – another feature that many random sites also seem to abuse.

To do this, go back to “Site Settings” (Step 3, above) and select “Location.” Then, make sure it is switched to “Blocked” so that it looks like the image below.

And that’s it! Chrome should save all your changes automatically, so you don’t have to worry about waiting for your preferences to update.

Of course, there are a whole bunch of other settings that you should consider changing if you feel safe while you browse and use Google. But, in the short run, blocking instructions and location access should make your daily browsing a little annoying.