How To Factory Reset Router

0
16

A factory reset cleans your router’s custom settings and returns it to the new state. This is an important step when troubleshooting some network issues. A factory reset is relatively easy, but each router is slightly different.

What Is a Factory Reset, and When Should You Do It?

A reset is not like a reboot, which is often mistakenly referred to as a “reset.” Reboot your PC as soon as the PC closes and starts backing up. If your router behaves strangely, this is an excellent way to troubleshoot.

Factory reset, on the other hand, clears all your data from the router. It includes any passwords, Wi-Fi network details (such as your network name (SSID) and passphrase) and any other settings you change.

Mostly, it’s like you just bought a router from the factory, hence the name. And that’s the point. If your router works strangely and the reboot couldn’t help you, or you think it might contain router malware – factory reset may fix the problem. But don’t go back, so this should not be your first step in troubleshooting. At the very least, try rebooting first. It would also be a good idea to upgrade your router’s firmware and see if it fixes the problem.

A factory reset is a good idea if you are selling or disposing of your router. That way, your router can forward any of your personal information (without looking like your Wi-Fi passphrase) to a fresh start.

How to Factory Reset a Router with a Button

Warning: As we described above, this erases all custom settings for your router, including Wi-Fi network passphrases! You have to reset it.

Almost every router uses a different admin interface, but that’s fine; You will be able to bypass it altogether. First, take a closer look at the router – most have a reset button on the back or bottom. You may need an unbound paperclip to press it.

On many routers, if you hold the button for 10 seconds, that factory will reset your router. If that doesn’t work, try the 30-30-30 method:

Hold the button for 30 seconds.
Unplug the router for 30 seconds.
Plug the router back in.
Hold the reset button for another 30 seconds.

How to Factory Reset a Router via the Web Interface

Now if your router does not have a router button, you will need to reset it using one of the options in its configuration interface.

We recommend consulting your router’s guide. You can search the web for the model name of your router and include the “manual” version to find the nonlinear version. The manual will help you connect to your router’s web interface, and show you where to reset.

Unless you have a mesh Wi-Fi system (unless you have to reset the device’s application completely), you usually start by defining the IP address needed to log in to your router’s admin interface.

On Windows 10, you can find this by going to Settings> Network and Internet, and then clicking “View your network properties.” See the “Default Gateway” entry – which is the IP address.

Plug that IP address into the address bar of your favorite web browser and press Enter. You should see your router’s admin interface and a username and password prompt. If you have never changed the details of your router’s features, then both the username and password are possibilities for “admin” (without quotes). If you’re not sure, try checking out a website like routerpassword.com for your model. You can also find this information in your router’s manual.

From there, dig around to find factory reset options. They are different for each router manufacturer (and also vary from model to model). Check any tracks named “Restore,” “System,” or “Settings.”

On the Asus router that we have, the option is called “factory default” and is located under Admin> Restore / Save / Upload settings.

Now you probably have Save your router’s settings to a file using its web interface. After factory reset the router, just import the file again. If there were issues with those settings, however, restoring the saved settings file can also restore the error.

Again, resetting your router will wipe everything you’ve completed to customize it with your Wi-Fi passphrase to your custom DNS server. You will necessarily have a “refresh out from box” router again.